About UZH Alumni

About UZH Alumni

 

Together We Grow Stronger

Founded in May 2017, UZH Alumni serves as an umbrella organization to the alumni associations and chapters of the University. UZH Alumni enables interdisciplinary and cross-faculty alumni interaction and strengthens contact between the University and its graduates. And, as the largest of the alumni units, UZH Alumni organizes a range of meet ups and events for its members every year.

UZH Alumni was born in 2017 of the merger between the Alumni Association of the University of Zurich ZUNIV and the Alumni UZH umbrella organization. Taking «Together we grow stronger» as its motto, it acts as a service provider to all the associations based on faculty, subject, or course of continuing education. UZH Alumni is also - as was ZUNIV - an association that all graduates of UZH Zurich are free to join, irrespective of their branch of studies. In continuing the supportive activities and events initiated by ZUNIV, UZH Alumni represents a spirit of both tradition and transition.

The history of the Zurich alumni movement goes back to 1883. At that time, while celebrating the University’s 50-year jubilee, a number of former students decided to found the Zurich University Association, later to become the ZUNIV. The idea was to give something back to the University and for alumni to stay in contact with each other. The founding motto of «Promoting the University and fostering its interests among the people» remains true today, as UZH Alumni provides substantial support to the University in the form of cultural, sporting, social, and academic activities. UZH Alumni and its member organizations also organize events that provide a stimulating forum for exchange.

You remain an alumnus or alumna for life. Membership of UZH Alumni offers you the chance to stay connected to the University of Zurich, to express your pride, and also to give something back, as a considerable share of the membership fee is channeled into activities that further the interests of the University.

Über UZH Alumni

Über UZH Alumni

 

Zusammen wachsen und zusammenwachsen

Unter dem Dach von UZH Alumni vereinen sich seit Mai 2017 Alumni-Vereine und -Chapters der Universität Zürich. UZH Alumni fördert fakultäts- und fachübergreifend das Alumniwesen sowie den Austausch zwischen der Hochschule und ihren Absolventinnen und Absolventen. Gleichzeitig veranstaltet UZH Alumni als grösste Organisation für ihre Mitglieder jährlich verschiedene Treffen und Events.

UZH Alumni ist 2017 aus der Fusion des Zürcher Universitätsvereins ZUNIV und der Dachorganisation Alumni UZH hervorgegangen. «Zusammenwachsen und zusammen wachsen» lautet die Devise in der neuen Struktur. UZH Alumni steht allen Fakultäts-, Studienfach- und Weiterbildungsvereinen sowie den Chapters als Dienstleisterin zur Seite. Zudem ist UZH Alumni – wie zuvor der ZUNIV – jener Verein, dem alle Abgängerinnen und Abgänger der Universität Zürich unabhängig von ihrer Studienrichtung beitreten können. UZH Alumni führt die Fördertätigkeit und Anlässe des ZUNIV fort. UZH Alumni steht somit gleichermassen für Tradition und Wandel.

Die Geschichte der Zürcher Alumni-Bewegung reicht zurück ins Jahr 1883. Damals feierte die Universität ihr 50-Jahr-Jubiläum und einige Ehemalige beschlossen, den Zürcher Hochschulverein, den späteren ZUNIV, zu gründen. Man wollte der Universität etwas zurückgeben und untereinander in Kontakt bleiben. Das Gründungsmotto «Förderung der Universität und Pflege ihrer Interessen im Volk» ist bis heute Programm: UZH Alumni unterstützt die Universität mit einem breit gefächerten Engagement bei kulturellen, sportlichen, sozialen und wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten. An zahlreichen Events von UZH Alumni und den Mitgliedsorganisationen trifft man sich zum anregenden Austausch.

Alumnus oder Alumna bleibt man ein Leben lang. Die Mitgliedschaft bei UZH Alumni bietet die Möglichkeit, der Universität Zürich verbunden zu bleiben, Stolz auszudrücken und etwas zurückzugeben. Ein namhafter Anteil des Mitgliederbeitrags fliesst nämlich in die Engagements zugunsten der Universität.