Commitment

Commitment to UZH

 

 

In Support of Our Alma Mater

UZH Alumni displays its commitment in a number of ways. Five times a year we allocate funding from the Alumni Fund to finance academic publications, conferences, and events. We also sponsor sporting, cultural, and social projects - a practice that goes back over 130 years!

Top-tier research cannot be achieved without financial backing. For this reason, the Research Talent Development Fund (FAN), which belongs to UZH Alumni, has been awarding scholarships and research funding to high potentials every year since 1998.

In our 19 academic guest apartments, academics from all over the world find affordable accommodation to rent during their stay in Zurich.

The credo of the 26 alumni organizations and 13 chapters of the University of Zurich is to develop their own student association and support junior academics. As a result, they have created a range of valuable prizes and mentoring projects - benefiting both their alma mater and their disciplines.

Personal commitment also counts. Acting as ambassadors of the University of Zurich, alumni contribute to the high standing of the institution. While you were a student, you benefited from the University: Expressing your bond to the University is a chance for you to give something back.

On important occasions, it is a tradition that UZH Alumni presents the University of Zurich with a substantial gift. In 2008, to mark the 175th jubilee, they financed the Welcome Desk located at the entrance; in 1983, for the 150th jubilee, the Fund for Academic Guest Accommodation was set up; in 1914 they presented the University with the sculptures in front of the main entrance (see image); and 100 years later, in 2014, the association enabled the splendid restoration of the Bodmer murals for the anniversary of the main building.

Engagement

Engagement UZH

 

Im Austausch mit der Alma Mater

UZH Alumni engagiert sich vielfältig. Fünfmal pro Jahr sprechen wir Vergabungen aus dem Alumni Fonds zugunsten von wissenschaftlichen Publikationen, Tagungen und Veranstaltungen. Zudem fördern wir sportliche, kulturelle oder soziale Projekte – und das alles seit mehr als 130 Jahren!

Spitzenleistungen in der Forschung brauchen Unterstützung. Der zu UZH Alumni gehörende Fonds zur Förderung des akademischen Nachwuchses (FAN) vergibt seit 1998 jährlich Stipendien und Forschungsbeiträge an vielversprechende Talente.

In unseren 19 angemieteten Gastdozentenwohnungen in Zürich finden Wissenschaftler aus der ganzen Welt günstigen Wohnraum auf Zeit.

Die eigene Fachschaft formen und den Nachwuchs unterstützen – so lautet das Credo der 26 Alumni-Organisationen und 13 Chapters der Universität Zürich. Sie haben eine wertvolle Palette an Preisen und Mentoring-Projekten ins Leben gerufen – für ihre Alma Mater und ihre Disziplinen.

Auch das persönliche Engagement zählt. Alumni tragen als Botschafterinnen und Botschafter der Universität Zürich durch Ihr Wirken zum guten Ruf der Institution bei. Während der Ausbildung profitieren die Studierenden von der Universität. Indem Sie als Alumni Ihre Verbundenheit zur Universität ausdrücken, können Sie ihr viel zurückgeben.

Traditionsgemäss macht UZH Alumni der Universität Zürich zu grösseren Anlässen ein bedeutendes Geschenk. 2008 finanzierte man zum 175-Jahr-Jubiläum der Universität den Welcome-Desk im Eingang. 1983 wurde zum 150-Jahr-Jubiläum der Fonds für Gastdozentenwohnungen errichtet. 1914 schenkte man der Uni die Skulpturen vor dem Haupteingang (vgl. Bild) – und 100 Jahre später, 2014, sorgte der Verein dafür, dass die Bodmer-Wandmalereien zum Jubiläum des Hauptgebäudes in neuem Glanz erscheinen.